19. Omniscient, immortal

This was a one-hour skirmish on “eternal”. It’s from the perspective of a lonely god, envying us mortals, doomed to watch the same stories over and over.

Omniscient, immortal

I watch you as you are born
Naked and crying, you open your eyes
I watch you take your first steps
Reaching for your mother’s smile

I watch you as you fall down
Scabbing your knee as you trip
I watch you as you get up
Refuse to cry and stiffen your lip

Chorus
Omniscient, immortal
Eternity is mine
The loneliest life
All I have is time

I watch you take your first kiss
She smells of berries and cream
I watch you as she waves you bye
As you leave to follow your dreams

I watch you breaking your heart
On a love too flighty to catch
I watch you slowly mend
And finally meet your match

Chorus

I watch as you hold your first child
The wonder-burst in your heart
I watch you watching over him
Feel the wrench when he departs

I watch you growing old
Your eyes dim and your back bent
I watch you watching her go
I watch you die again and again

Chorus

Leave a Reply

