10. Let me be your harmony

Well I’m a numpty. I was all geared up to take part in the 24 hour super-skirmish where there are prompts every couple of hours, and you have to write a song in an hour. So yeah I log in, game face on. Look up the thread…and then find out I stuffed up the dates, it was yesterday. Anyway, decided to pick a few of the prompts to do on my lonesome – this one is “melody”. This was about a 1.5 hour effort. It was written in an hour but I kept stuffing up the takes. Not that the final one is perfect, I just got tired 😛

Let me be your harmony

Once I was a tune alone
A solitary line
In major, minor modes
I did really hope to find
A sympathetic soul
To call mine

Chorus
Let me be your harmony
Counterpoint your melody
You and me
Are meant to be a family
Let me be your harmony
Counterpoint your melody
You and me, a family
A duo then a chord

I played with other guys
For a little while
But never really jibed
Our words could never rhyme
Even though we tried
We never chimed

Chorus

Some day we might clash
A dissonant discord
But we’ll find our way out
And play in sweet accord

Chorus

[whistle verse]

Chorus

Leave a Reply

