6. Letter into the dark (50/90)

Coupla sad songs lately. I mostly like to write fiction, with elements of my own experience, but these latter ones are more personal. They don’t say anything that hasn’t been said in a million songs before, but hey, they’re mine.

Letter into the dark

Are you there, can you hear me?
How’s the weather your way?
Right here it’s quite grey
I’m doing fine, but I miss you
Wish you were here, I could kiss you

Are you there, can you hear me?
Sorry I never said
Hope you knew what you meant
I’m grateful you taught and you helped me
Selfless, you cared for and held me

A bottle thrown into the waves
A signal transmitted in space
A letter sent from the heart
Into the dark
Into the dark

Are you there, can you see me?
How’s the other side?
Hope it’s clear and it’s bright
You deserve only the best
Thanks for what we had, I was blessed

Are you there, can you see me?
Wish you’d hear what I wrote
Let me play a few notes
I just want to live to make you proud
If you were here, I’d sing out loud

A bottle thrown into the waves
A signal transmitted in space
A letter sent from the heart
Into the dark
Into the dark

Are you there, can you hear me?
As you sail away
Beyond the great veil
You’ve flown into the unknown
Rest now, now that you’re home

One thought on “6. Letter into the dark (50/90)

  1. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

