5. Space to breathe (50/90)

This came out of noodling on the baritone uke, which I haven’t played for a while. There’s a string buzz that drives me crazy on it.

The words recount what often happens to me: not knowing what to say in the face of someone else’s grief and pain. I often resort to the therapeutic STFU – I think silence is a powerful thing sometimes.

Space to breathe

You say you see his face at every turn
Every memory burns
You say you jump at every little noise
Just a stranger’s voice

You say nothing can fill this hole
And you feel so cold
You say you think the void is here to stay
The void that has a name

All I have to offer
All I have to give
All I’ve got is silence
And space for you to breathe

I know I will never know your grief
That would be naive
I know there is nothing I can do
But sit right here with you

I know there is nothing I can say
To make it go away
I know no one can bear your pain
Let’s share it just the same

All I have to offer
All I have to give
All I’ve got is silence
And space for you to breathe

You say you can’t stand to see your friends
Will this ever end
You say you can’t even bear to smile
A smile feels like a lie

You say you will always be this numb
You’ll never see the sun
You say there are things you left unsaid
That echo in your head

All I have to offer
All I have to give
All I’ve got is silence
And space for you to breathe

One thought on “5. Space to breathe (50/90)

  1. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

