8. Downgrade

Well this is an attempt at doing a Song Skirmish – these are weekly prompts with which you have to write a song in an hour. One bloody hour. Finished the lyrics and instrumental within the hour, but recording the voice took a little more time. This week’s prompt was “I’ve heard you tried to find me in someone else”. I considered giving the narrator some character development but…nah, he’s insightless 😛

Downgrade

He’s got the same car
He’s got the same hair
Has the same guitar
Ain’t got the same flair

He’s got the same suit
He’s got the same stare
He’s got the same boots
But honey I don’t care

Why downgrade
When you were so blessed
Why downgrade
When you had the best
Don’t know why you couldn’t see
He couldn’t never ever be
The finest guy that you could find
Cus I’m one of a kind
There’s only one of me

He’s got the same name
He’s got the same nose
Ain’t got the same game
Don’t give him a rose

He’s got the same arms
He’s got the same kicks
Ain’t got the same charm
Ain’t got the same tricks

Why downgrade
When you were so blessed
Why downgrade
When you had the best
Don’t know why you couldn’t see
He couldn’t never ever be
The finest guy that you could find
Cus I’m one of a kind
There’s only one of me

Why go to bronze from gold
From diamond to zirconia
Why go from hot stuff to cold
You’ll end up oh so lonelier
Don’t know why you couldn’t see
He couldn’t never ever be
The finest guy that you could find
Cus I’m one of a kind
There’s only one of me

2 thoughts on “8. Downgrade

  1. Pingback: 1. Took my breath away (50/90) | song-shaped objects

  2. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

