4. Dance for me

 One of these days, I’ll try to write a song that sounds like it’s from the 21st century. Today’s not that day though. A schmaltzy waltz, this’un. Wanted to do a 3/4 time song, which made me think of cafés, Paris, accordions. This one is way too sentimental for my liking, but I’m trying to complete songs even if I lose enthusiasm for them half way. Tried to spice up the clichéd Boy Meets Girl story with the sad voyeuristic neighbour narrating.

Featuring faux accordion (melodica), faux piano (my real piano is too loud to record in the middle of the night, which is of course when 90% of this project happens), and pitchy pitchy vocals.

Dance for me

Their eyes meet across the window of the busy café
She smiles and he looks shyly at her then away
She offers a seat
They share a newspaper
They talk just a little but have so much to say

I watch them as they meet weekly in the cool autumn light
They linger a little longer with every time
His hand touches hers
Her stories make him laugh
One day she leads him homewards instead of goodbye

Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance, dance while you can
Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance for me, oh dance for me, one two three

Alone in my cold apartment I’m warmed by the sight
They kiss beside the window while cooking with wine
She sings as she stirs
He sways to her beat
Their shadows on curtains dance in the winter night

Instrumental

Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance, dance while you can
Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance for me, oh dance for me, one two three

But slowly my heart is broken as frost turns to spring
Laughter turns into silence and she no longer sings
He leaves for another
She throws out the pictures
She cries beside the window til her poor eyes sting

I once was like one of you, fresh-faced and long-limbed
Careless, I threw away my life’s love on a whim
Now grey in the gloom
I peer from my room
Helplessly watching the spark flame and dim

Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance, dance while you can
Dance, dance, you young lovers
Dance for me, oh dance for me, dance for three

2 thoughts on “4. Dance for me

  1. Voyeuristic neighbour works really well as a narrative voice for this story, I think. And in quick recordings of this type (FAWM-esque), never apologize for pitchiness in vocals. Goes with the territory, generally. I like the piano line and the melodica solos were lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

