3. Promised land

This one is semi-cheating because I came up with the musical idea before April. It’s saved in my notes as “uke doo doo doo”. It was tricky as hell coming up with words to fit the meter in my head. The rhythm suggested a train or walking so I went from there. Unlike the first two it’s not autobiographical.

Experimenting with different rhyme schemes this time, ABCABC on the verses, ABBA on the chorus (if you’ll forgive rhyming “feet” with “dreams”).

Promised land

Walking along and alone by the river
I am walking alone, head bent low, stepping slow
Where am I going, will the river bend?
Uh-oh uh-oh
Walk through the dark and the rain makes me shiver
I am walking alone, cold as stone, winds that moan
Where am I going, will the river end?

All I have are these two hands
Two eyes, one mind, two feet
All I have are hopes and dreams
For the promise of the promised land

Walking away from my home, torn wide open
I am walking from home, all is gone, all I’ve known
All things are shattered, will they ever mend?
Uh-oh uh-oh
Walking away from a country that’s broken
I am walking from home, all is dust, all is bone
Inside I’m battered, will I ever mend?

All I have are these two hands
Two eyes, one mind, two feet
All I have are hopes and dreams
For the promise of the promised land

Working away, I’m a stranger with a strange face
I am working away, look at me, look with hate
Blood, sweat, and tears, am I such a threat?
Uh-oh uh-oh
Working away, I’m a stranger in a strange place
I am working away, rock by rock, brick and clay
Blood, sweat, and tears, will I get ahead?

Years through years
Dust settles and heartache fades
Years through years
A fire grows in my fireplace

All I had were these two hands
My hopes and dreams delivered
But by night I walk through the river
To the memory of my motherland

Edited version:

Walking along and alone by the river
I am walking alone, head bent low, stepping slow
Where am I going, will the river bend?
Walk through the dark and the rain makes me shiver
I am walking alone, in winds that moan, cold as stone
Where am I going, will the river end?

Chorus
All I have are these two hands
Two eyes, one mind, one heart
All I have are hopes and plans
For the promise of the promised land

Walking away from my home, torn wide open
I am walking from home, all is gone, all I’ve known
All things are shattered, will they ever mend?
Walking away from a country that’s broken
I am walking from home, all is dust, all is bone
Inside I’m battered, will I ever mend?

Chorus

Working away, I’m a stranger with a strange face
I am working away, look at me, look with hate
Blood, sweat, and tears, am I such a threat?
Working away, I’m a stranger in a strange place
I am working away, rock by rock, brick and clay
Blood, sweat, and tears, will I get ahead?

Years through years
Dust settles and heartache fades
Years through years
A fire grows in my fireplace

All I have are these two hands
My hopes and dreams delivered
But by night I walk through the river
To the memory x2 of my motherland

2 thoughts on “3. Promised land

  1. The story behind the story, as it were, with this song is what drew me in while I was listening. What exactly happened in the narrator’s past? There’s a steely resolve in the present, too.

    The bridge had a really good turn away from the main chords, I thought, and the alternate chorus to end the song worked well.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

