2. Everyday

Second song in two days. I’m rushing because there’s not much chance of penning a song on weekdays after a long day at work. Still, it took a lot of procrastination to pump this out. But it is more or less done.

Most of my composition attempts before this project have been instrumental, but now that I’m starting with the lyrics, I’m finding that the music becomes secondary and I’m gravitating towards kinda boring familiar chord progressions and rhythms. Gotta shake things up with the next song.

Everyday

Grand romance is fine for some
Like in books and movies
Serenades by moonlight sung
Such cheesy things don’t move me

Romeo and Juliet
Two kids that ended badly
Poor Scarlett and her main man Rhett
Who gave no damns, sadly

Don’t need to dine by candlelight
Might set ourselves on fire
No hot balloons rides at sunrise
You know I’m scared of heights

Love, love, love is in the everyday, in tiny ways
Love, love, love you in the everyday

I’ll heat my cold feet on your legs
Put up with snoring rumbles
You’ll make me buttered toast with eggs
I’ll save you from boring uncles

You’ll take out garbage when I’m lazy
I’ll make you tea for when you’re sick
You’ll talk me down when I am crazy
I’ll wait for you to watch Netflix

Love, love, love is in the everyday, in tiny ways
Love, love, love you in the everyday

Shakespeare can keep all his sonnets
No drama please or bleeding hearts
Just a sofa if you’re on it
With wine and cheese, is all I ask

Love, love, love is in the everyday, in tiny ways
Love, love, love me in the everyday
Love, love, love is in the everyday, in tiny ways
Love, love, love you in the everyday

2 thoughts on “2. Everyday

  1. Can’t agree more–love is about the everyday tiny things. Really catchy chorus and good chord structure to your tune.
    (oh, for what it’s worth, I go by ‘metalfoot’ over on the FAWM forums… that’s why I’m here listening and commenting!)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Master song list | song-shaped objects

Leave a Reply

