About

I’m a GP by day, lifelong musical noodler by night. I’ve always loved music, play a bunch of instruments badly, but never really sat down with the intention of writing songs. Many excuses: I’m not good enough, nothing to say, too lazy, it’s too hard, I’m not creative, I’m not a singer. Recently though, I managed to churn out some stuff for special occasions – a wedding rap, a birthday song – and realised that with a purpose and a deadline to kick me up the arse, hell, I can give this a go.

I discovered February Album Writing Month in March, when it was already over. The idea there is to write 14 songs in the 28 days of February. Seeing as how it’s another year to the next FAWM, I thought I’d set my own challenge of 10 songs in the 30 days of April.

It’s just a creative exercise, stretching some muscles I’m not sure I even have. Giving myself permission to be crap, to be derivative, to be cliched, to be silly, to be obvious. Consider it an enema to try and shift 30 years of writer’s block. (Don’t think about that metaphor too hard.) It doesn’t have to be great, it doesn’t even have to be good, it just has to be done.

Let’s roll.

Update #1: after completing this 10 songs in 30 days challenge, and after having a month without deadlines where I created absolutely nothing, I decided to do the 50/90 challenge which is 50 songs in 90 days (June 1 to Aug 30, 2017). I have some sort of death-wish. Anyway, that’s why the page has been renamed song-shaped objects – unfortunately the URL can’t be changed because April-me didn’t have any foresight 😛

Update #2: June 50/90 was scuppered by a bout of laryngitis, so I restarted the count and joined the official 50/90 which runs July 4 to Oct 1, 2017.

Leave a Reply

